get out of the dot/cubicle!

I found some dead leaves today in my cubicle, pressed between those lift-able panels which conceal your power sockets. I seriously hope they are leftover pot-pourri from the previous inhabitant, and not some mysterious leaves from the external environment.

Anyway, it IS true; working here has made me paranoid about cleanliness and health. Today, after proof-reading an article on bacteria, viruses and fungi in the workplace, I immediately went to the toilet, collected some tissue, wet some with soap, and proceeded to wipe down my desk and keyboard. THE TISSUES WERE BLACK. I shudder to think about it. I must take control and not be so paranoid. 以前哪会这么洁癖!

Okay, freak-out over. I originally wanted to comment on Zuji’s recent ‘Get out of this dot’ marketing campaign, but it seems like it’s already been done. See here: http://www.marketing-interactive.com/news/26716 and another more local source, here:  http://www.tnp.sg/content/zuji-ad-angers-singaporeans.

Having taken a few marketing modules, and given that my current job scope concerns marketing, I found this news interesting. It’d be intriguing to see what motivated the ad agency helping Zuji to take this approach.  But nevertheless, it seems one thing stays true: humans are just unpredictable. No matter how you may tailor or craft something, people may just take it the wrong way.

It’s my opinion, however, that they overlooked one crucial thing. True, tourists travel to see the world, but at the end of the day, they return to their home country. Thus, highlighting the shortfalls or limitations of a home country would not really convince locals, but only resonate truly with emigrants. The hidden implication is – this country has such and such disadvantages – why are you still here? It’s a more negative stance compared with say, Country X has such beautiful scenery, why not visit there?

Also, with Zuji positioned as an international brand, it appears like an outsider pointing out our faults – and generally insults are less acceptable when they do not originate from our in-group. (E.g. how racial slurs like ‘nigger’ or ‘azn’ are okay within those groups themselves, but not when other groups use it)

And to those who claim that the taglines are just neutral truths and that Singaporeans are being their usual uptight selves – its not neutral k? Just look at their ad structure: The first statement presents a ‘fact’ about Singapore. Then the next statement prompts readers to “Get out of the dot”. A simple logical assumption would be that the first statement is a negative aspect of Singapore, otherwise why would people be galvanised into leaving it?

Personally, I also felt offended when I saw their marketing collaterals. (YES IM UPTIGHT TOO)

But why? Is it a manifestation of nationalistic loyalty? Or more simply that I don’t like when people insult the place I live? AHH I CONFUSED MYSELF.

Rawr!

