my first 3 weeks in hk

Hi everyone! I’m feeling kinda lazy so I’ll just make a pictorial post to sort of breeze through the more interesting points of my first three weeks in HK. It’s funny but I feel like I’ve been here very long already. But then again, 3 weeks IS a long time. And I just realised it’s the longest I’ve been away from home!

OK so in my first week, we went to see the sights of Hong Kong, including the Peak!

Thanks to the wonderful photographer Wei Png, we got some really lovely shots. He even taught us how to use our lousy digital cams to take semi-decent skyline shots! The shot above was taken using his powerful DSLR, of course.

Here. I’ll show you what I mean. First, I tried taking a normal flash-less shot of the skyline:

But I couldn’t see anything. So I tried to be “Pro” and increase the ISO or aperture or something. I can’t even remember what I did. But this is what I got:

Frightful, right? The vegetables in front didn’t help either. So finally Wei Png came over and helped me in my distress. The result is wondrous:

Haha so lesson of the week? Buey Hiao Mai Gey Kiang.

School also started with Orientation a day after I arrived. It was quite eye-opening to see so many exchange students squeezed into this huge hall. Apparently there are about 1,000 of us over here at HKU this semester!

This shot, of course, was not taken by me. The article with the picture can be found here.

And finally, classes did start on the 1 September. I actually find HKU very similar to NUS. Some of the similarities include: lots of stairs on campus!, there being a mid-semester break, tutorials beginning on the third week of school, and other minute details like similarities in the course descriptions and reading lists (good for us huh!) But I think HKU has slightly more readings. I’m only taking Political Science modules though, so I can only compare those.

Speaking of which, I should go do some readings now!

Rawr!

